Our council


Central Highlands Regional Council was created on 15 March 2008 following amalgamation of the former Shires of Bauhinia, Duaringa, Emerald and Peak Downs.

Our region extends over approximately 60,000 square kilometres, stretching from Arcadia Valley in the south to the Peak Ranges in the north, east from Boolburra to Bogantungan in the west.

We administer in excess of $1.1 billion in assets, including nine library branches, six aquatic centres and seven customer service centres. We maintain 4632 km of roads and numerous parks and gardens, including the impressive botanical gardens in Emerald, the linear parkland in Capella and the Japanese Gardens in Blackwater.

Other services include youth and indigenous programs, art spaces, cultural and community development, animal management, public housing, water and sewerage, waste collection and kerbside recycling.

More information, including detailed information on towns and areas within the region, can be found on our Community Profile page.


Our council has five operational departments:

  • Communities – planning and development; environmental management; community services; waste services; parks and gardens; sporting facilities; community planning, engagement and strategy; and facilities maintenance.
  • Infrastructure & Utilities – road works; plant fleet and workshops; water utilities; stormwater drainage; flood management; and disaster management.
  • Commercial Services Emerald Airport, Emerald Saleyards and Shepton Quarry.
  • Corporate Services – financial services; information services; human resources; long-term financial management; customer service and procurement.
  • Governance – corporate communications, governance, risk management, internal audit; and workplace health and safety.

Local Government in Queensland

Councils in Queensland are established under the Local Government Act 2009. The Local Government Association of Queensland is the peak body for local government in Queensland. It is a not-for-profit association setup to serve the state’s 77 councils. To find out more about local government in Queensland visit the LGAQ What is Local Government

Register for SMS Alerts

Enter your mobile number and we will text you with important local alerts